Tags

, , , ,

I love to cook. I love to grocery shop and plan my meals and in a perfect world I’d cook a gourmet dinner every night of the week. Doesn’t always work that way though, unfortunately. Thai Red Curry is a dish I’ve been preparing for a couple of years, I always have the ingredients on hand and I can get it on the table in about 30 minutes (my knife skills are legit).

When I mentioned to Bonnie that I make this dish she asked me to do a post on it. I happily obliged. Try this dish, it’s super flavourful, super healthy and quick to make.

Healthy, fresh veggies.

Healthy, fresh veggies.

Thai Red Curry by Misia
Serves 3-4

Ingredients
1 can coconut milk (buy Mr. Goudas or Success brand, cheap and good!)
1/2 jar curry paste (green, yellow or red, all good and non-spicy bases), about 2 Tablespoons
2 Tablespoons fish sauce (check the International foods aisle)
2 Tablespoons brown sugar
Veggies of your choice chopped into bite sized (1″) pieces:
I always use a mix of whatever’s in the fridge including: carrots, onion, sweet bell peppers, broccoli, mushrooms, snow peas, zucchini, etc.
Protein of your choice:
I usually use chicken (about 2 breasts is plenty) and sometimes add shrimp (about a cup). You can use pork tenderloin or beef (sirloin or flank steak) if you like.
Garnish:
scallions, basil and cilantro.

You’ll also need to cook about a cup of rice, I prefer Basmati to all other varieties but use what you have. I usually also cook the rice first so that way when everything else is ready it’s time to eat.

The How To
Put your rice in pot, add two times the amount of water, cover with lid. Bring to a boil, turn down to low and let simmer 15 min (or according to package directions). When 15 min is up turn it off and let it sit, don’t open it at all during the cooking process, trust me.

Open can of coconut milk, dump into saucepan and add in curry paste, fish sauce and brown sugar. Bring to simmer on medium heat, don’t boil. You can add a thai chili or jalapeno to the sauce or to the veggies, if you’re intolerant of heat skip this step. If you like heat I advise you to stick with one pepper. Also, don’t touch the pepper or blade with your hands, wear a glove or a plastic bag over your hand and then discard. I made the mistake of touching the peppers once and then taking my contacts out hours later, it was the opposite of fun.20130307_182400

20130307_182920

Curry sauce ingredients, don’t worry it will all come together with some heat and stirring.

 

20130307_185402

Bag over hand, looks dumb but it works.

Cook your meat in a pan, I usually season with pepper, garlic powder and some crushed chilis. Use whatever seasoning you like but I would keep it simple, you don’t want the flavour to interfere with the curry sauce. Once cooked, remove from heat and set aside.

For the veg I usually heat a pan on medium-high with about 1 tablespoon of oil (peanut or coconut, don’t use extra virgin olive oil, it can’t take the heat). Add your onion and hard veggies first (carrot, broccoli, etc.) and let cook for about 2 minutes. Then add your softer veggies like peppers, mushrooms and zucchini, this is so everything finishes cooking together and nothing is over/under cooked. You can also add chopped garlic at this stage, it will cook without burning because the softer veggies let out some liquid. I usually cook my veggies for about 10 minutes total, I like them to still have some crunch.

20130307_190748

Once everything is done cooking, assemble your curry bowls. Start with rice at the bottom, as much as you like, then add your veggies, protein and ladle the sauce over. Garnish with scallions, basil (a key flavour) and cilantro (if you like it, I happen to love it). Taste for heat and then add sriracha sauce if it’s not hot enough. Enjoy!

20130307_185051

Basil is delicate, just before serving stack leaves into a pile, roll up and slice to keep bruising to a minimum. A chiffonade if you will.

All my flavourite garnishes.

All my flavourite garnishes (L to R: scallion, cilantro, basil).

 

The finished product! Enjoy with your favourite beer or wine (gewurztraminer goes really nicely with Thai curries).

The finished product! Enjoy with your favourite beer or wine (gewurztraminer goes really nicely with Thai curries).

Note: if you can find this curry paste, buy it! My cousin sent this to me from the UK and it is amazing. So much flavour and heat, much better than the Thai Kitchen brand variety we have here. You'll likely have to source it an an Asian market, if you have any luck PLEASE let me know!

Note: if you can find this curry paste, buy it! My cousin sent this to me from the UK and it is amazing. So much flavour and heat, much better than the Thai Kitchen brand variety we have here. You’ll likely have to source it an an Asian market, if you have any luck PLEASE let me know!

 

