Tags

, , , , , ,

The State Rooms at Warwick are incredible. Rich, opulent and everything you’d think life at a castle would be. The Castle is now owned by the Tussauds (of the wax museum fame) so throughout the state rooms are wax replicas of nobility and servants. Some of these are so life like it was kind of creepy.

In the basement of the castle you saw how servants prepared food and laundry for the royals.

In the basement of the castle you saw how servants prepared food and laundry for the royals.

One thing I really enjoyed about the wax figures was that there was sound clips playing which gave great insight into the lives of those who lived there. Affairs were rampant though everyone kept up appearances during the day. Some of the stories told were actually quite funny.

Nothing was glued down, I know because I touched everything.

Nothing was glued down, I know because I touched everything.

The nerd in me was thrilled that the books were all real and hundreds of years old.

The nerd in me was thrilled that the books were all real and hundreds of years old.

I wish I had had more time to take shots of all of the incredible detailing, everything was hand carved and extremely ornate.

I wish I had had more time to take shots of all of the incredible detailing, everything was hand carved and extremely ornate.

In honour of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee.

In honour of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.

This is most likely the prettiest chandelier in the world.

This is most likely the prettiest chandelier in the world.

Obligatory torture rack shot.

Obligatory torture rack shot.

The Rose Garden. The fragrance was unbelievable, you could smell the roses well before you could see them.

The Rose Garden. The fragrance was unbelievable, you could smell the roses well before you could see them.

If you ever visit England and want to see a really well kept and authentic castle I recommend visiting Warwick, it was such a fun day and something I’ll never forget. Are there any castles you’ve visited that you would recommend seeing?

