Tags

, , , , , ,

Another fun day trip we did was when we went to Warwick Castle. A true medieval castle, another quintessential British monument. I’m a bit of a history buff and though I don’t know a ton about medieval times I do know William the Conquerer, who built the original part of this castle.

(Pics after the jump)

It was amazing to tour the castle and the grounds and though it is a bit like a theme park, it has been restored to it’s original greatness. We entered through a beautiful garden and much to my surprise, it was full of peacocks! I had never seen one of these birds in real life before so I was kind of giddy.

So beautiful, so obnoxious.

So beautiful, so obnoxious.

So proud, so obnoxious.

So proud, so obnoxious.

Me and my cousins, taken in the peacock garden.

Me and my cousins, taken in the peacock garden.

From up in the tower you can get a really good panoramic view of the grounds and of the Avon river. The stairs going up the tower were incredibly narrow, dark and steep but fun to up.

Warwick, as seen from Warwick Castle tower.

Warwick, as seen from Warwick Castle tower.

Though there is a full dungeon to explore, the tour was guided and also cost quite a bit extra so we didn’t bother. But you can explore the basement of Caesar’s Tower which has a dungeon-like vibe. It was kind of disturbing but cool to see at the same time.

A gibbet, where prisoners where hung to die from the rafters in metal chain suits.

A gibbet, where prisoners where hung to die from the rafters in metal chain suits.

Next up, I’ll take you inside the castle to see how royalty used to kick it.

