Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

To continue from my earlier post about London, I wanted to share with you my favourite part of the city. It’s hard to pick just one but I really loved the South Bank of the Thames. It’s where the London Eye is located and stretches for kilometers.

I know the London Eye is a landmark but just about everyone who has been on it advised me not to spend the money. So we didn’t (the line up was also forever long). The weather was actually perfect (by Canadian standards) so we ended up visiting everything you can see from the eye anyways.

The South Bank is a real cultural hub and everywhere you look there’s something interesting to see and do. There are food trucks, musicians, buskers, mini-festivals, the list goes on.

The one installation that really stood out to me was this massive sandbox that spanned each colour of the rainbow. I truly regret not capturing this art in its entirety but the image below may give you some notion of just how magical it was. My 13 year old cousin kept begging us to turn around so she could take some sand home with her. The 13 year old in me was also begging.

Rainbow Park Installation at South Bank, London. Photo credit to Ballad of Brand New Art We Heart.

You're never too old to have fun.

You’re never too old to have fun.

I would really recommend spending an afternoon at the South Bank, tons of fun. Oh, and London has the best buskers, period. You’ll be amazed at what some of these people will do. Close to South Bank and Waterloo tube station was a small street food fair where I had some of the best curry I’ve had in my life. I had no idea it was there but from about 200 yards away the curry was all I could smell so I followed my nose there (and left a trail of drool). Another great experience that I wish I had documented and spent more time at.

Tower Bridge was another highlight, especially when it was decorated for the games.

Tower Bridge, London.

Tower Bridge, London.

If we had more time I would have loved to take a tour of the Tower of London, next time for sure.

Walking down the Thames to Millennium Bridge and rounding out our time at St. Paul’s Catherdral was a great way to end our time in London but by that point we were wiped and no one was in much of a mood to take pictures.

London was a truly wonderful place to visit and I will go back someday soon, next time I’m pacing myself, taking more time and eating more wonderful food.

