Tags

, , , , , ,

London was by far, hands down, my favourite place in England. If you’ve been you understand. If you haven’t been yet please don’t write it off as being another “big” city. It’s so unique, so beautiful, so historical and incredibly easy to navigate.

Best time of day to see Buckingham Palace? Early morning, there was literally no one else there. I wasn’t as impressed as I thought I would be but it’s worth seeing. Green Park which runs alongside the Palace and Hyde Park are gorgeous and worth strolling through.

Buckingham Palace with my cousins.

Buckingham Palace with my cousins.

The Victoria Memorial Fountain in front of Buckingham.

The Victoria Memorial Fountain in front of Buckingham.

Hyde Park in London.

Hyde Park in London.

I never knew why they were called Tea Roses until I smelled one. Amazing.

I never knew why they were called Tea Roses until I smelled one. Amazing.

I was there about a week before the Olympics started so all throughout the city were these things, the mascot of the games, and each were painted in a different motif.

Olympic Mascot

Olympic Mascot

There are so many landmarks to see in London and most offer paid tours if that interests you. Westminster Abbey is the most breathtaking piece of Gothic Architecture I’ve ever seen. And it’s massive, I couldn’t fit it into one frame, this is one of the best shots I took.

Westminster Abbey.

Westminster Abbey.

Big Ben and the Parliament Buildings were amazing to see. Trafalgar Square (the Canadian Embassy is also right there) was bustling, there was to be a huge outdoor concert there the next night.

My first glimpse of Big Ben close up.

My first glimpse of Big Ben close up.

Next, I’ll show you where my favourite part of London is…

